This forum was closed on October 1st, 2010. However, the archives are open to the public and filled with vast amounts of good reading and information for you to enjoy. If you wish to meet some Wardrobians, please visit the Into the Wardrobe Facebook group.

Vegetarian Christians

Vegetarian Christians

Postby pedestrian73 » October 2nd, 2005, 8:38 pm

I just made a post in the Narnia forum about Eustace's parents being vegetarians in Voyage of the Dawn Treader. I had a question that I thought I should ask in this forum.

Let me first say that I'm a Christian and I've been eating a vegetarian diet for six months. Now, there are some Christians who teach that we should all be vegetarians - I'm not one of them. I don't think it's morally wrong to kill and eat animals. I mainly do it for health reasons, environmental reasons and because of the way that most of the meat industry treats animals.

I know that God allows man to eat meat, people ate meat in the Bible, Jesus fed people fish. My question is: Is it wrong for a Christian to be vegetarian since God has given us meat to eat or is it okay? The best scripture I can think of that I believe that we have that choice is Romans 14.

Any opinions or ideas? Thanks. :)
pedestrian73
Wardrobian

re: Vegetarian Christians

Postby A#minor » October 2nd, 2005, 9:11 pm

I think that if it's for health reasons then you should just eat whatever you want. Just make sure that you get enough protein (eat eggs or something). As long as you are taking care of God's temple (i.e. your body) then I think that God will be pleased.

A good reference for you to look up would be . It's a holistic diet that's based on God's dietary laws given to the Israelites. Some of the stuff in there, I wouldn't reccommend, but most of it is common sense. (Duh, fiber and fresh veggies are good for you.)
"My brain and this world don't fit each other, and there's an end of it!" - G.K. Chesterton
A#minor
Wardrobian

Postby Summer » October 2nd, 2005, 10:08 pm